Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Cocoa oatmeal cookies May 14, 2012

Filed under: cookies,Cookout/Potluck,My Recipes — hmills96 @ 6:02 pm
Tags:

Yes, I’m still alive! I know it has been forever. I’m after two moves, some budget adjustments, and a lot of ups and downs, I’m finally cooking again.

Boy, does it feel awesome! I’ve been cooking 3-4 times a week, instead of taking the lazy way out with ramen or popcorn.

Yesterday I even got the urge to bake! These cookies were actually going to be muffins, but then I realized my muffin pan is in storage. It was a VERY sad moment. Until I made a few adjustments and pulled these babies out of the oven.

I think my new roommate is pretty psyched to be getting spoiled!

Cocoa Oatmeal Cookies
Original recipe

1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cup white sugar
3 Tbsp molasses
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix together butter, sugar, and molasses.

Beat in eggs and vanilla.

Mix together flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Stir into wet ingredients one third at a time.

Stir in oats and raisins.

Drop into greases cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes.

Try really hard to let these cool. Fail. Burn your mouth on a scalding hot raisin. Keep eating.

Just kidding on the last part. Really…that raisin was HOT.

 

Leave a Reply

