Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Balsamic Glazed Pork Chops January 10, 2013

Filed under: Pork,Quick and Easy — hmills96 @ 8:11 pm

Holy crap, you guys. I am SORE. Today is day two of our workout/diet plan and man. My body does not like the change so far. But that’s good right? It means that I’ve made an adjustment to the terrible way I was living.

I’m not doing anything really structured–I always fail miserably at those plans. One day missed on the plan and I revert back to my inert laziness. Instead, we are making an effort to eat less fat and preservatives, and work out during the week. Richard works late 2 or 3 nights a week, so we are doing cardio together on his early nights, then sitting down to a well-rounded, healthy dinner. On his late nights, he works out in the morning, and I’m doing a strength-based exercise regimen courtesy of Pinterest. It’s only been two days, but I think we will be able to keep each other accountable.

Or, if I’m being honest, he’ll keep ME accountable. Because let’s face it–he’s much better at sticking to a plan than I am. The hardest part will be the weekends, when we usually drink lots of beer, go out to eat, or order Chinese takeout.

I am quickly becoming addicted to balsamic vinegar. It fulfills all the savory, sour, rich flavors that my palate craves 90% of the time. It’s so easy to toss some greens and veggies with a splash of balsamic and just a bit of EVOO.

I came across this recipe in one of my old binders and knew I had to make it. It was DELICIOUS. It was very quick to throw together, but there was no sacrificing the flavors here. It was deep and sweet and tangy. I ended up dousing some green beans in leftover sauce to eat for dinner tonight.

I had every intention of crediting the author here, but my wonderful boyfriend cleaned our apartment while I was at work today, and threw away the recipe. This is not a recipe I created out of my head, so my sincerest apologies to the original author. Just trust me. Make this soon!

Balsamic Glazed Pork Chops

2-4 boneless pork loin
EVOO, salt pepper
1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
2 Tbs Honey
1 Tsp chopped rosemary
1 Tbsp butter

Drizzle pork with EVOO, salt and pepper. Set aside for 20-30 minutes to come to room temperature.

In a small saucepan, boil balsamic and honey until reduced to 1/4 cup. Add butter and rosemary, remove from heat.

Preheat skillet on med high heat. Place pork in pan, baste with balsamic mixture on both sides until cooked through. Mine were thin, so this only took a few minutes. Thicker loins will take longer.

Serve with veggies, and applesauce of course!

 

Leave a Reply

