Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Crispy Mustard Glazed Chicken Breasts January 16, 2013

Filed under: Chicken,Quick and Easy — hmills96 @ 6:16 pm

Guys, I have some big news! I’m engaged! If you’ve been following me on Facebook or Pinterest, you’re probably thinking “Big surprise, everyone already knew that!” We joke because it’s been the worst kept secret in town. We’ve been planning the wedding since Christmas, but because the ring was on order, it wasn’t “official.”

On Monday, Richard had told me that he was going to have to work late because too many people had called off work. He had been there since 6 am, and was understandably frustrated. I decided, instead of working late too, I’d come home, do some laundry, make dinner, and clean up so he could relax when he did get home.

But, when I opened the door to our apartment, I walked in to purple crepe streamers EVERYWHERE. He had made a timeline of our relationship and it crisscrossed around our apartment. I started following it, all the time thinking he was still at work, and how could he have gotten this done, since he left before I did that morning. I was laughing and crying as I read the date cards that were placed every few feet on the line.

The timeline wrapped back into our bedroom–where I was expecting a card or clue or something, since I still didn’t think he was home. At that point he popped out of the closet and proposed! Well, almost proposed, because I think I said “YES!” before he even got the words out. Oops. Me and my big mouth!

To everyone who has sent their congratulations, thank you! We are so excited and can’t wait to be married in the fall.

The recipe that follows is what I made for dinner last night. I have been told that I must add this recipe to my regular meal plan, because Richard loved it.

Crispy Mustard Glazed Chicken Breasts
Adapted from

2 chicken breasts
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper
4 Tbsp butter, softened
2 1/2 Tbsp stone ground mustard
3/4 cup Panko
2 tsp dried dill
1 cup chicken stock
1/2 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Rub chicken with olive oil, season with salt and pepper.

Combine 2 Tbsp butter with mustard. Reserve two tsp of that mix for sauce. Smear the rest on the chicken.

Melt remaining 2 Tbsp butter, mix with Panko, dill, salt and pepper. Dredge the breasts with this mixture.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over med-high heat. Sear chicken until browned on both sides, about 5 minutes each. Transfer skillet to oven and roast until chicken is cooked through–15-20 minutes.

Transfer chicken to serving platter. Add stock and cream to skillet over medium heat, and stir until creamy and reduced to 3/4 cup, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in reserved mustard mixture.

 

Leave a Reply

